Topic

Tarptent (Double Rainbow) question

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Tarptent (Double Rainbow) question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Alina G
    BPL Member

@alina

Locale: Toronto, Ontario

I am a beginner backpacker and I have a question that might seem funny to some of you but here it goes: I have bought the Double Rainbow and I have tried it in good weather and it seems fine. I do have a fear of being caught in a severe rain storm though. Is the fabric going to keep the rain away? I keep on thinking that with time the rain might start seeping through. What are your experiences?
    Thank you for your input. Any tips are greatly appreciated.
    Alina

Dan Rimar
    Spectator

@tarpon6

Locale: Florida

I was in two nasty thunderstorms in the Sangres last summer in my Tarptent Double Rainbow. Both had hail with accumulation. The second storm was the worst, there was an inch of hail on the ground when it was over. Water was running under the tent in one corner. I was perfectly dry the entire time.

If you are going to experience heavy rain pull the corners low so the outer shell is close to the ground. This prevents any splash from entering the interior.

James Cuppy

@kentuckian

I have a Rainbow Solo and I have not had trouble with water coming through the fabric even during heavy rain. However, I did find that I needed to seal the seams to eliminate water entry in a couple of seam related locations. It is not difficult and Tarptent has good instructions and a how to video on their web site. Enjoy your Rainbow. Its a great tent.

Kier Selinsky

@kieran

Locale: Seattle, WA

I have a TT Rainshadow2 and use it in the land of rain. Step 1: stake it down in the yard and pull it real tight and seam seal as directed. Step 2: enjoy.