Topic

New Backpacker – 30 miles?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion New Backpacker – 30 miles?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Landis
    BPL Member

@jeff6605-2

I am new to long distance hikes. I'm 31 and generally decent shape. I signed up with a group to do an overnight 18mi day 1, 12mi day 2. Should I do this type of trip for my first time? We will be packing light, around 20lb pack w everything. I just hate to cancel last minute although it would not cancel their group trip. Weather will be fine in Socal this weekend. Kinda worried about my feet/legs holding up…

Thoughts?

Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

I think you'll be fine on the trip. I think 18 miles will be a long day for you but you should be perfectly capable of doing it. Last summer I hiked about 17 miles in a day. That was probably the worst shape I've been in for a long time because I didn't do really any expercise over the summer due to a surgery I was recovery from.

Make sure your shoes fit well, if they're a bit tight you might not notice that at home but on the trail it will get worse. Also carry gooed socks and be prepared to deal with a blister if you get one.

Have fun!

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

First time backpacking? What is the farthest you have backpacked in a day? Dayhiked in a day? I predict you might be hurting, but could make it.

Chad Anderson

@kiddzoso

Locale: N. California

Are you going along the coast? Or are you headed into some mountains? Since you're likely not going into the High Sierra, 18 miles is probably OK. The number of passes you have to climb will figure greatly into your speed and overall fatigue. You can roughly estimate that it will take 9 hours of movement, if that sounds doable.