Topic

Lightweight Mountaineering Pack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism Lightweight Mountaineering Pack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 48 total)
  • Author
    Avery S
    BPL Member

@aveman

Hi,
    I'm relatively new to BPL, and I'm less interested in getting my backpacking load under 20 lbs than I am getting my mountaineering load under 40 lbs. I currently use a Gregory Makalu Pro (69 L, 5 lb. 9 oz, minimalist but burly load hauler) and have carried up to 65 lbs in it. It's a great pack, but I'm not thrilled with the weight and I won't need it if I can get my load under 45 or 40 lbs. I've done a ton of searching for a new pack and so far I have the following on my list:

Cilogear 60 L worksack (4 lb, 3 oz)
    Black Diamond Speed 55 (3 lb, 5 oz)
    HMG porter (2 lb, 0 oz with stays)

I'm worried about the durability of the BD and HMG packs, and the weight of the Cilogear. I've looked at a lot of other bags and counted most out for one reason or another.

The bag I want would be 55-65 Liter, 3ish pounds, under $300, minimalist, durable, and carry 45 lbs without maiming me. Am I missing any standouts?

Diplomatic Mike

@mikefaedundee

Locale: Under a bush in Scotland

Have a look at CRUX in the UK.

Herb Tassin
    BPL Member

@mfxdmx

Locale: Southeast

Hi Avery,

If you're interested in selling that Makalu Pro, send me a PM. I might be interested.

Best regards,

-Herb

rOg w
    BPL Member

@rog_w

Locale: rogwilmers.com

deleted

James holden
    BPL Member

@bearbreeder-2

did i miss something … but there seems to be no ice axe loops on those new dead bird …

now granted you dont NEED one … but they are convenient for axe and tools … and they dont weight much at all

Avery S
    BPL Member

@aveman

Not bad. Found a weight of 1400 g for the Nozone 55 here: