Topic

Northern Lites Snowshoes: 25″ or 30″?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Northern Lites Snowshoes: 25″ or 30″?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Luke Ludwig
    BPL Member

@ludwigl

Locale: Minnesota

I am looking at purchasing a pair of Northern Lites Snowshoes. I have no experience snowshoeing and I want to use them on a winter backpacking trip in northern Minnesota (BWCA). I weigh 150 pounds, and may carry up to 35 pounds on my back… any more and I would switch to a pulk. I am trying to decide between the Elite (25", 36 oz. pair, listed for user packing weight under 175 lbs) and the Backcountry (30", 43 oz. pair, for 175 lbs to 250 lbs). So I am right on the threshold between these snowshoes, around 175-185 pounds total. I know the snow conditions can play a big factor. Should I go with the Backcountry, a slightly heavier and more cumbersome snowshoe, but one that will keep me afloat above the snow better? Or with the Elite which in many conditions may provide all the flotation I need and which I should be able to move around in more easily (7 oz lighter, 5" shorter), but which may frustrate me in powdery snow or when carrying heavier loads? Any practical snowshoeing advice would be appreciated. I also need boots of some sort… which I haven't looked at yet.

douglas ray

@dray

Locale: Olympic Peninsula