Topic

Exped Synmat UL7

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Exped Synmat UL7

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 41 total)
  • Author
    W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

I just received this in the mail today. Normally ~$150, I was initially turned off by it due to price but bought it after a friend was able to score me a deal and get it for $100. That made the decision right there.

Based on trying it on the hardwood floor today, it looks like I've been missing out on a lot of good sleep for many years now. I've always been a minimalist, sticking exclusively to closed-cell foam pads when backpacking (Ridgerest 3/4 or short GG Nightlight). While the closed cell has always worked "well enough", there certainly have been too many nights spent with a root jabbing my ribs, that rock in my spine that I didn't notice until 2AM, tossing, turning…

To be honest, I've held out on the big inflatable pads for fear of going soft, for fear that once I get used to them, sleeping with a tiny foam pad will be unbearable (I still plan on carrying foam on fast/long/SUL type trips).

To think I've toughed it out for so long…Hands-down, this pad is more comfortable most beds I've slept on. The valves are top-notch; you can deflate it slightly with the press of a button without even getting up. I foresee some luxurious nights ahead, the first coming this Saturday night. Hopefully it holds up well.

I have a strong feeling I'll soon be wondering why I didn't switch much sooner (providing I don't pop the thing on my first night out). Thanks to all those that steered me toward this pad.

noneur business
    Spectator

@that_one_dude

Hmm. I fear I may be spending more money soon. Thanks!