Topic

Knife for self-arrest in snow

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Knife for self-arrest in snow

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Bishop
    BPL Member

@copperhead

Locale: Down Under

What do you guys think of using a mid-sized fixed blade knife for self-arrest rather than an ice axe? I am going into an area where the need for self-arrest is minimal, but potential.

I figure that for areas where a slip looks possible, I will attach the knife using a wrist cord.

Andrew

Dave T

@davet

I'm no expert, but I'd think that would be a VERY bad idea.

Seems that it would be ripped out of your hand if you tried to stop yourself with it. The good thing about an ice axe is you can grab it in two spots, hold it against (under) your body, jam it in, and hope it stops you. The rigid 90 degree angle is made of the pick and the shaft, not your hand trying to hold a knife.

And he last thing you want when sliding (or tumbling) out of control would be a knife attached to your wrist by a lanyard. Yikes!

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

I would say that it is a fairly bad idea.

–B.G.–

David Olsen
    Spectator

@oware

Locale: Steptoe Butte

Better off with a sturdy walking stick and use a ski pole arrest.

Oh, and practice til you know it will work.

Art …
    BPL Member

@asandh

I agree a knife strapped to your wrist may be a bad idea.
    however, improvising sort of depends on the angle of the slope you're on and how icey it is.

I have grabbed a couple pointy rocks on occassion when traversing hard pack snow around 30-35*.
    Anything that can slow you down will help.

Scott S

@sschloss1

Locale: New England