Topic

I Got My Feet Wet!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique I Got My Feet Wet!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Terri Wright
    BPL Member

@ncalcamper

Locale: SF Bay Area

I've been hiking in trail runners for a few months, but yesterday was my first time try them with wet feet. They did dry out quickly, but I felt some friction on my toes on extreme down hill sections. The rest of the time they felt great. Bonus, no blisters when I got home!

BlackHatGuy
    Spectator

@sleeping

Locale: The Cascades

Welcome to the club!

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

And survived to tell the tale!

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

> The rest of the time they felt great. Bonus, no blisters when I got home!

Yup.

Cheers

Brad Fisher
    Spectator

@wufpackfn

Locale: NC/TN/VA Mountains

Wish I knew the trick to making this work for me. I tried a month ago and ended up with two nice blisters on the outside of each heel.

Day 1: 14 miles + no streams = no blisters
    Day 2: 19 miles + 3-4 streams = 2 nice blisters

Back to taking the shoes off for stream crossings.

Brad

Diplomatic Mike

@mikefaedundee

Locale: Under a bush in Scotland

I think it's important to make sure your socks fit well. Most manufacturers have their socks in various size ranges. ie 8-10, 11-13, etc. Try to buy (wool) socks that are just big enough. Excess fabric can be a cause of friction/rubbing/blisters when wet. I often remove my socks for a single river crossing on a dry day. If it's a wet day, i don't bother.

Ike Jutkowitz
    BPL Member

@ike

Locale: Central Michigan

injini

I haven't gotten a blister since starting to use these guys, wet or dry. Well fitting (loose) shoes also help.