Topic

Critique my initial gear list

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Critique my initial gear list

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    David Lohrentz

@dlohrentz

Locale: Wisconsin

Hello all. I'm new to backpacking. I'd like a kit that will work for backpacking or bike camping trips. Most of my trips will probably be 3 day trips in Wisconsin or nearby.

I've recently sold some vintage bikes and have a little cash to spend on camping gear.

My list has a few more things to add such as toothbrush. I plan to take the nettent during mosquito season but otherwise just a groundsheet. Still not sure about the pad.

http://www.backpackinglight.com/backpackinglight/forums/gear_lists/5b681ce6abe580a1a9c58fa69ce41a5f.pdf

Travis Davis
    Spectator

@rockytop

David, it's a good list! 8 pounds is nice. I'm not very familiar with Wisconsin weather, but here's my two cents…

I don't know how much of an issue your budget it, but you could save some money with water purification by getting some aqua mira instead of a steripen. Steripens are nice though, but I would make sure to carry something for backup too (AM tabs would be good).

It looks like this list is good down to low temps in the 30's. With a quilt you'll want a balaclava or beanie. IMO, the Patagonia Houdini is a little unnecessary. I'd swap that for a long sleeve merino top, something around a 200 weight. I know its a totally different piece, but I think you'd use it more.

A not too expensive upgrade from a blue ccf pad would be to pick up a thermarest prolite short or a BMW torsolite on gear swap, you can usually find them for around $35-40.

A pack that is similar to the SMD Swift is the new Osprey Hornet, and you can probably find one in a local gear shop to try out if you wanted before you bought it.