Topic

Once and For All: Best Ultralight Hammock?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Once and For All: Best Ultralight Hammock?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    A
    BPL Member

@lurkinart

Locale: The Wild.

What is the BPL Consensus on the Best Hammock with Bug Protection?

I have never used a Hammock before, but doing a long Costa Rica trip and then South America, and assuming a hammock will be my best choice. Thoughts?

Lapsley Hope

@laps

Lisa Frugoli
    BPL Member

@alfresco

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

You may want to ask at Hammockforums.net.

Michael Crosby
    BPL Member

@djjmikie

Locale: Ky
    Andy Schill

@aschill

This might be one of those situations where there is no "best" solution. What works best for one person might not be best for another.

The only hammock I've use is from Warbonnetoutdoors

Michael Crosby
    BPL Member

@djjmikie

Locale: Ky

I agree with Andy,
    but is not this always the case?

Andy Schill

@aschill

The "best" question is usually a big no no on forums. Rather then say what is best, specify guidelines that you would need, and hopefully a product with a good match can be found.

For example:
    – Lightweight
    – Bug Protection
    – Hammock Design (feet up or level, I'm not a hammock guru)
    – Type of suspension required
    – Type of material used
    – Your weight

Stephen Barber
    BPL Member

@grampa

Locale: SoCal

I've tried the Hennessey Ultralight Backpacker, and the Warbonnet Blackbird and Traveler. The Traveler has an add-on bug net; no bugs, don't bring it.

Either of the Warbonnet hammocks are more comfortable than the Hennessey. The Hennessey is supposedly lighter, but that disappears when you include the straps (HH doesn't include the weight of the straps in its literature)and get comparable tarps.