Topic

1 Person, 2 Pound, Dble Wall Tent

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear 1 Person, 2 Pound, Dble Wall Tent

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Daryl and Daryl
    BPL Member

@lyrad1

Locale: Pacific Northwest, USA, Earth

Here are some pictures of a 1 person, 2 pound, tent+fly that I have been fooling around with and modifying for many years. Parts of the fly were sewn over 35 years ago. Ignore the blue tarp on the ground. It was muddy when I took these pics and I was trying to keep the tent clean.

ONE PERSON

Specs
    Tent, fly and poles weigh about 2 pounds
    Fly is 4' high, with a 2' X 8' canopy, with vestibules on both sides
    Tent is 18" wide, 6' long with height varying from zero to 4'
    Aluminum poles
    Fly = 1.5 ounce coated ripstop (about 2 ounces per square yard with coating).
    Tent = 1.5 ounce uncoated ripstop

Features
    Tent and fly can be set up separately
    Fly usually set up first and tent clipped in from inside fly, out of rain
    Tent height (zero to 4') is controlled by single 5/8" quick release, adjustable buckle
    Tent can be put through washing machine when dirty (no coated fabric)
    Waterproof ground cloth + foam pad keep ground wetness off occupant
    No condensation on tent walls due to lack of coated material
    Adjustable tent height allows tall tent to change clothes from kneeling position
    Adjustable tent height allows lowering tent for more floor room while sleeping
    Adjustable tent height allows for reduced volume, warmer tent while sleeping
    Small tent easy to warm up to 60-70 degree F (through body movement) when 30F outside
    No mosquito netting. Seldom use it. Might add in next draft If I change my mind.
    Weight could be closer to 1.5 lbs with current, lighter materials