Topic

Where do you backpack?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Brandt
    Spectator

@bassdude

Locale: Texas

I am really new to the ultralight backpacking world and pretty new to the backpacking world in general. As I am looking at all the effort/money needed to go ultralight, I'm wondering if it is worth it? My primary destinations are state parks at the moment. Does one really need ultralight gear for that? I love the idea of ultralight, I really do. But is it worth the cost for my experience/expected field of use? I do expect and hope that I can hike the AT, JMT, and other big trips, but that is probably not anytime soon. School and other activities take up most of my time at the moment.

So what I am trying to get out of this is: where do you go to backpack? The vibe I get from this crowd is one that is mostly concerned with thru-hikes and other big trips (such as the AT and JMT). Or am I wrong? Are you guys frequenters at your local state parks for maybe a weekend trip or a quick overnighter?

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA

Brandt,

Local State Parks make up most of my trips due to time involved and proximity. That said, I love it when I can really get away!!!

As for the cost of going UL, I believe that except for the best bags,quilts, and insulating clothing that it is cheaper. But you have to ask questions on sites like this BEFORE making the plunge. Many here will tell you the same thing.