Topic

College student looking to go light

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists College student looking to go light

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    John Castro-Rappl
    BPL Member

@jabber

Hey guys, long time lurker on the forums, figured I'd finally join up and see if I could get some advice on putting together a gear list.

A little about me: I'm a college student at Appalachian State University, and looking to put together a good list of durable, multi-use items while staying as lightweight as possible. I work on campus, but even so I do have to keep the hobby on a budget at the moment. I like the MYOG threads, but am not really confident enough in my abilities to rely on it for the big stuff.

Unfortunately, I started off getting gear before I became a reader of this forum, so some of the things I have now, while not heavy as they could be, are also decidedly not ultralight.

I've got some Christmas money burning a hole in my pocket, and want to round out my list for 3-season use up in the mountains. One of the neat things about going to ASU is that I actually get to take a Backpacking/Orienteering class for a PE credit, so I'd like to have a kit that isn't embarrassingly heavy or full of unnecessary items when I show up.

Two lists; one of things I own now, and one of things I've considering getting, either to fill holes in what I need (tent, cooking supplies, etc) or to lighten up what I currently use.

Anyways, any and all advice is welcome, so help me lighten me up!

Thanks!

John Castro-Rappl
    BPL Member

@jabber

*Updated*

Category Item Specific Item Weight (oz)

Shelter
    Tent Tarptent Contrail 21.1
    Stakes Easton stakes (6) 3.2
    Floor MYOG Tyvek floor 5

Packing
    Pack BPL Absaroka Backpack 34.2
    Cover Sea to Summit Pack Cover (Small) 3