Topic

Going lightweight for winter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Going lightweight for winter

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Robert Coleman

@jbo_c

I'm fairly new to backpacking – definitely new to UL. I need info on EXACTLY what I should be looking at/getting for winter layering.

I have a pretty light down jacket and a waterproof shell, but under that, I'm all cotton, and I know that is a no-no. But everything I see seems to be either heavy or bulky.

I need very specific suggestions as I have no idea what I'm looking for. – as budget friendly as is reasonable.

No need to go below teens, but need to be comfy at 15-35 degrees.

Specific suggestions?

Thanks.

Jbo

Tad Englund
    BPL Member

@bestbuilder

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Robert, I would do a complete search of this site. There is enough info to keep you home for months.
    If you do some research you will be able to better pinpoint what should work for you and your location.
    A whole article could be written on this and still not cover all areas.
    You have not provided enough info, so any information that is given at this point would be like hunting sparrows with a shot gun.
    Or not…

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

There are many variables here that we can't address since we don't know what climate you will be in. There is more to climate than just temperature.