Topic

Liner: trash compactor bag vs. official liner

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique Liner: trash compactor bag vs. official liner

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Vadim Fedorovsky

@socrates

Is there any benefits to buying a BPL of gossamer liner over just using a trash compactor bag like Skurka does?

Which is the most water proof?

Rodney
    Spectator

@rodney-m

Locale: Northeast Oregon

I do not think the pack liners sold at BPL are any better than trash compactor liners. The trash compactor liners are much less expensive and you do not need to pay shipping. I've used them for a long time with very good results.

Ryan Hutchins

@ryan_hutchins

Locale: Somewhere out there

I agree, no need for an expensive pack liner, just use a trash compactor bag. I've been doing this for over ten years and my stuff never gets wet.

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

"Is there any benefits to buying a BPL of gossamer liner over just using a trash compactor bag like Skurka does?"

Sure, you can support a huge comglomorate like Hefty, or help BPL, GG, MLD, etc. to stay in business so they can continue to develop some really cool gear for us.

Chris Gray
    Spectator

@chrisfol

Locale: Denver, Coloado

Nick, I sure hope you are being facetious because not only are pack liners from BPL, GG and MLD etc approximately $10, including shipping, but they are also much thinner than trash compactor bags.

TCP bags, $8 for 20. BPL, GG, MLD: $10 for two bags.

This is a no brainer to me. Believe me, the sale of pack liners do not make or break these companies– if a company depended on these sales, then they have a poor business model.

John Nausieda
    BPL Member

@meander

Locale: PNW