Topic

Dehydrating Question

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Dehydrating Question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

I'm still somewhat new to dehydrating- I've pretty much only done it for veggies and simple items, but not whole meals or anything requiring butter.

How well do recipes including butter dehydrate?

Or am I better off just carrying butter and adding it later?

I.E.: Mac n' cheese…better to dehydrate and add butter later or cook a full batch with butter and then dehydrate? (I've often cooked it without butter on the trail but would like the extra calories for some upcoming hikes).

Thanks.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Butter will not dehydrate right. It is full of fat, and fat does not dehydrate right. Water-filled food will dehydrate.

You can carry butter, or you can carry olive oil.

–B.G.–

W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

That's what I thought, thanks, Bob.

Best way to carry butter anyone?
    Double ziplock?

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

I'm not the person to answer that, since I try not to carry any saturated fat to eat (it's a medical thing). I do have all sorts of tiny plastic containers for olive oil. They go from 5ml and 10ml up to 60ml.

–B.G.–

Konrad .
    BPL Member

@konrad1013

Craig, I use these containers for my sunscreen and so far they have been leak proof. You can always double bag to be safe. They also come in different sizes, (i think up to an oz)…should work fine for butter. Of course then you're limited to only a small amount.
    http://www.rei.com/product/605887