Topic

Running shoes bad for the joints?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Running shoes bad for the joints?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 52 total)
  • Author
    Joseph Morrison
    Spectator

@sjdm4211

Locale: Smokies

Very suprising, here is a link:

http://www.dailyfinance.com/story/do-running-shoes-make-us-run-the-risk-of-injury/19309476/?icid=main|main|dl3|link3|http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dailyfinance.com%2Fstory%2Fdo-running-shoes-make-us-run-the-risk-of-injury%2F19309476%2F

Obviously we can't backpack barefoot but does this ring true for trail runners as well.

Joseph

Sanad Toukhly
    BPL Member

@red_fox

"Obviously we can't backpack barefoot but does this ring true for trail runners as well." -Joseph Morrison

Says who?

I've been backpacking barefoot for almost two years now. Obviously I'm only able to so because I live in Florida where temperatures don't get that low and I don't have any snow to deal with. However, you can always go with Vibram FiveFingers for lower temperatures. Another option is racing flats. Racing flats won't give you the same effect as going barefoot but you would be able to feel the ground much more than with trail runners. On the plus side, racing flats actually weigh less than Vibram FiveFingers. However, Vibram FiveFingers is still closer to going barefoot than racing flats because of the design. I have the Mizuno Wave Universe 3 racing flats and I love them.

-Sid

Eugene Smith
    BPL Member

@eugeneius

Locale: Nuevo Mexico