Topic

Winter tent stakes

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Winter tent stakes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

What do y’all use for winter tent stakes. The SMC snow stakes at 1 oz. apiece ain’t lite dudes.

Ryan Faulkner
    Spectator

@ryanf

if you are on snow

you could make a dea^d man with a rock or stick or something

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

I would not go out in winter without stakes because rocks or sticks might not be available in six foot of snow : ). I am surprised there are no titanium snow stakes shaped like the smc stakes but maybe shorter. Those used as deadman anchors would be good.

Mike Storesund

@mikes-1

Vargo makes a Titanium Ascent stake that comes in at 10 grams per stake, but I have no experience with them.

Bill Fornshell
    BPL Member

@bfornshell

Locale: Southern Texas

If I copied the SMC T-Anchor/ 1oz snow anchor out of some Thru-Hiker 0.016″ titanium they would weigh about 0.7oz each, maybe a little less.

If you could make them yourself they would be cheaper than the $30 per 4 the SMC ones cost.

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

I had forgotten about the snow/sand fabric anchors too. Some of those made of the newest lightweight fabrics would be very light.

Bob Gabbart

@bobg

Bill Fornshell
    BPL Member

@bfornshell

Locale: Southern Texas
    Ryan Faulkner
    Spectator

@ryanf

Douglas Frick
    BPL Member

@otter

Locale: Wyoming

>These look like they would be easy to make.

Now even I’m motivated to get some Cuben! In a color other than white…

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA

I just bought 12 Vargo Titanium snow stakes. I will report as to how they perform in a few weeks. They are a little pricey though.

Ryan Jordan
    Admin

@ryan