Topic

Need help narrowing down my selection on 2-3lb packs

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Need help narrowing down my selection on 2-3lb packs

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 67 total)
  • Author
    P G

@pinggolf91

I am new to hiking and have only done some day hiking so I don't have much gear. I am basically starting from scratch so I decided to start with a pack and go up from there. I want to be light but not to light to where it sacrafices comfort. I want an internal frame mainly because of support. I will mostly be doing 2-4 day hikes on the east coast during spring, summer, and fall.

I have it narrowed down to 5 packs. Here are the packs and the attributes that I have found from reading on here.

Granite Gear
    Meridian Vapor (seems to be light with heavier bag features)
    Latitude Vapor (has a very very good review on here)
    Trail Vapor (seems to be very popular)
    Osprey
    Talon 44 (not durable but light)
    Atmos 50 (pretty heavy, hard to pack, but very comfortable)

Ashley Brown

@ashleyb

"I am basically starting from scratch so I decided to start with a pack and go up from there."

You're about to get about 50 people suggesting that you buy your pack *last*! Get your other gear first. The reason being you often misjudge how much your gear will shrink when you start buying UL gear… so you end up with a pack that is too big.

The other things is, in 6 months time you may well be horrified at the thought of a 3 pound pack.

I'm a classic example. Bought my pack first and now consider it too big and too heavy for what I need, will shortly be selling it.

Jim W.
    BPL Member

@jimqpublic

Locale: So-Cal

Buy used if you can. That way you don't have much invested and can decide which features you want based on your own real world experience.

Jim

Joe Clement
    BPL Member

@skinewmexico