Topic

Almost SUL . . .

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Almost SUL . . .

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    Edward Jursek
    BPL Member

@nedjursekgmail-com

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Below is the link to my "almost SUL" kit. Looking for any way to slim up. The kit is for hiking in the PNW, mostly the North Cascades, for summer months. Trips with this kit will typically be 2-3 days long.

http://lighterpack.com/r/4lvo4t

Mo FromBrisbane
    BPL Member

@ausmomo

Can't comment much on your list, as I'm a novice, but that's a NICE website!

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

Well it looks like you need to shed over a pound (1.22). Problem is, you are going to need to change how you operate and that might not be worth it to you. That extra pound plus is really difficult… it is about 20% reduction!

I never use sleep socks or a spare pair for trips. -2.4 ounces

You have a foam pad (GG) so leave the NeoAir at home – 8 ounce

Trail Designs GVP Kit is 3 ounces. -2.2 ounces

PNW water is generally plentiful. Use CLO2 tablets and 2 1-liter Platys (.9 oz ea) -3.2 ounces

You should be able par down topical & FAK – 2 ounces

SAK Classic are about .9 ounces. A razor blade is 4 grams

So you would save just under a pound. Still not there.

Leaving iPhone at home might make the difference.

A few years ago I documented a trip where my base weight was under 4 lbs with temps down to freezing. This was an experiment for XUL with poor weather. I had rain gear, shelter, an insulating layer (which I didn't see on your list). I even took an iPhone as an experiment. I detailed the gear list down to the individual items in my FAK. I often use iterations of this kit for 2-3 day trips. Also some of this stuff is expensive: EE Cuben quilt and cuben shelter and rain gear.

XUL Trip