Topic

Picaridin?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Picaridin?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Kate Anthony
    Spectator

@kanthony

Locale: NorCal

Has anyone used Picaridin based mosquito repellents and how does the protection compare to Deet? First impression confirms that it is indeed "odorless and non-greasy". I haven't tested on plastic or synthetic to see if dissolves/softens them like Deet. I have no qualms about using small quantities of Deet or Picaridin (I'm a chemist by training and trust the data), I just hate the smell and the greasy feel of Deet.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

My opinion is that full-strength DEET is the best for driving away flying bugs of most kinds, and it works best if you keep it off your skin. Instead, put it on areas of clothing (like shirt collars) where body heat will cause it to vaporize. It is the DEET vapor that bugs hate. DEET is powerful, but it can also eat the paint finish on a car.

Picaridin also works. It doesn't seem to be as powerful, but it probably has fewer side effects for humans. So far, it has not attacked my car paint.

Permetrin also works, but it must be applied to clothing. It seems the least powerful.

–B.G.–

Ian
    BPL Member

@10-7

Short answer, depends.

Long answer,

To the best extent possible, I wear long pants and long sleeves as my primary defense against mosquitoes and only use picardin as a last resort. When they're bad, I wear a headnet and find it's easy enough to keep them off of me when I'm moving, put my hands in my pockets when I'm not, and use picardin when moving or keeping my hands in my pockets isn't practical which isn't all that often. I haven't used deet in years but did use it quite a bit in the military, including places like Panama.