Topic

My SUL setup ,what i like about it and some questions !

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums SuperUltraLight (SUL) Backpacking Discussion My SUL setup ,what i like about it and some questions !

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Michaael Gingras
    Spectator

@yahito

Hi there, my name is michael i've been backpacking for 4 years.
    I speak french so i am sorry for my crappy writing !
    I,ve been reading this forum for a long time now(1-2 year).I just decided today to finaly subscribe and see all the article the site had to offer , also i wanted to share my setup whit you guyz to help me adapt it even more.

What i like about this setup is that it contain :
    1.Fully enclosed shelter :
    i know i could go alot lighter by using a Poncho-tarp setup and i have done it a couple of time , but what i dont like about it is bug protection.I also like the feeling of having a little home and having some privacy while i'm whit friends .

2.Air matress :
    For a living i got a furniture moving compagny and my back is really important to me,In fact it is the first reason that got me into lighweight backpacking , also i dont seem to have good night of sleep on Closed cell foam mats.

3.Water filter :
    Whit the weight of the Sawer filter i only see advantage , it is fast, it filter alot better than a bandana it alow me 1 more liter of water carrying capacity, i also really like not having to put chemicals in it , i still have some micro pur tabs in case of failure.

4.Rain protection top whitout puncho :
    why whitout puncho ? because did you ever had to go to the toilet in the middle of the night , just to realise its raining real bad and you cant get your rain gear unless you plan on undoing all your sleep system ? well i hope you wont have to :)

I shall make picture on my next trip for you guyz