Topic

Patagonia DAS vs hooded Micro Puff

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Patagonia DAS vs hooded Micro Puff

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    Dave .
    BPL Member

@ramapo

Hello, hello,

Yet another question that reinforces the fact that I may not know how to dress myself:

So, I'm beginning to turn my attention to a high loft, synthetic jacket for winter hiking in the Adirondacks. I've never done this type of hiking before, so I'm not sure how heavy duty I need to go when it comes to this piece of gear. I know it depends a lot on what I layer underneath and how I intend to integrate the jacket into my sleep system, but, in general, do you guys think that the DAS would be overkill?

I know the DAS is big and cumbersome to pack, so if it's too much coat for my purposes I'd like to carry something smaller I think.

Also, if I can get the same insulation out of the Micro Puff combined with, say, a down vest would that be a better, more flexible option?

So far for clothes I have

1. Smartwool and synthetic base layers
    2. Montane Featherlite smock
    3. Thermawrap
    4. WP/B shell

I only have a bag rated to 35*, so I'll need to get another winter bag I think. I'll take care of that once I know where I stand with clothes I think.

Any opinions or ideas? Maybe I should look at other jackets too?

Thanks

Dave

Christopher Plesko

@pivvay

Locale: Rocky Mountains

I own a MP pullover (no hood) and have tried on the DAS a couple times. There is no comparison between the two. The DAS is by far bigger and warmer. MUCH warmer.