Topic

Crossing Glaciers

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism Crossing Glaciers

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    John Mowery

@mow

Locale: Minnesota, USA

I am currently researching trips for next August. I'd like to hike the Wind River's in Wyoming. One proposed route takes me over Indian Pass and across a half mile long glacier.

I've never crossed a backcountry glacier. I have limited experience skiing on glaciers like Mt. Hood and St. Mary's (Colorado). My hiking partner has no experience with glaciers and is a novice backpacker. I'll definitely be leading the trip.

My question is, with book study and the appropriate gear, is crossing a backcountry glacier too dangerous based on the above information? Must one have formal training to safely traverse a glacier? Is it possible to learn the appropriate techniques from a book? If so, do you have a book recommendation?

Thanks for the help.

Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member

@sharalds

Locale: Gallatin Range

John,

I'm hesitant in saying that studying from a book is experience enough for a safe and proper glacier crossing but it is certainly a good place to start. Freedom of the Hills is considered one of the industry standards in educational manuals for wilderness and primarily alpine wilderness travel. I've read it cover to cover and it does an excellent job of describing glacier travel.

– Sam

Doug Johnson
    BPL Member

@djohnson

Locale: Pacific Northwest

That's the book for sure but I'm in full agreement that book knowledge isn't enough here. Now some glaciers are pretty mild but by definitions it's a moving mass of ice and therefore will have some crevasses.