Topic

Yama Mountain vs Gatewood

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Yama Mountain vs Gatewood

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    J-F B
    Spectator

@imasphere

Hi everyone.

I was considering buying a Gatewood Cape with the Serenity Net but I came across the Yama Mountain DIY kit. Since I already have an Integral Designs 5’x8′ I think the Yama Mountain kit might do a good job. I am basically looking for a light tarp option but since I never used a tarp before I also want to have a net shelter and bathtub floor. Has anyone used the Yama Mountain Bug shelter, or even better made there own shelter with the Yama DIY kit.

I have no experience sowing but I could get help from a friend who does a lot of sowing. I really like the Gatewood but the price for both the cape and net comes to $260 and since I’m Canadian, the exchange rate boosts that up an additional 35%. The Yama seems like a great kit, I’m just afraid that in a heavy rain shower, the size of my poncho-tarp would not be big enough to cover the openings at both ends of the net. Any input or feedback from anyone using this combo or something similar would be greatly appreciated.

Kevin Babione
    BPL Member

@kbabione

Locale: Pennsylvania