Topic

Xpac Custom Fabric Run. MYOG Resource and Gear Production.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Xpac Custom Fabric Run. MYOG Resource and Gear Production.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    Nathan Meyerson
    BPL Member

@nathanmeyerson

Locale: Southwest

Hi folks, I’m getting ready to order a custom run of Xpac V21 (210 Denier face with .5mil PET laminate and NO 50d Polyester taffeta scrim)

I’ve been using the X21 material to build packs for the last 4 years or so via my LLC Cascade Craftworks. I believe this to be the nearly the ideal of functionally waterproof fabric for ultralight packs.

I moved to New Mexico last winter and have been focusing on prototyping for a new line of backpacking/bikepacking gear. (I’ve been a lifelong adventure cyclist).

I’ve been a contributor to online ultralight backpacking forums since the pre-BPL days of backpacking.net.

I am a firm believer that most innovation in the realms of accessible outdoor gear will always come from cottage gear makers and garage tinkerers. Being a support/resource to these communities has always been in the best interest of outdoor enthusiasts everywhere.

I wanted to pose a question: What fabric colors are folks interested in?

I have access to Black, White, Bahama Blue, Spanish Teal, Deep Purple, True Red, Coyote Brown and Slate Grey

Be mindful that in any case, I will be doing a run of V42 (420 Denier face to .5mil PET with no X ply or 50d poly scrim) in BLACK.

So something that can blend/contrast with BLACK is ideal.

Currently I am leaning toward Coyote Brown, though I’m Happy to be swayed by the will of the people.

As a disclosure, I do intend to sell this fabric once produced.