Topic

Winter summits in the Sierra Nevada

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Winter summits in the Sierra Nevada

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Luke C
    Spectator

@paylasoutdoors

Hey guys, I am hopefully going to climb Matterhorn peak this coming weekend, near Bridgeport, CA, on the north boundary of Yosemite. We are doing one day approach, then summit and hike out the next day. We’re dry camping, hopefully clear weather so no tents, but aware it’s going to be very very cold. I have a zero degree bag, an R4.5 sleeping pad, 250 thermal uppers and lowers, wool socks, an 850fp down jacket, REI rain paints (got them for snowshoeing casually, not this, but I can’t afford proper shell pants right now) an arcteryx zeta SL jacket, windproof gloves, etc. I’m trying to figure out what i actually need to take, and what conditions you all have experienced at this season? I know it’s going to be cold, but it looks very dry. I’m just dreading getting out my climbing shoes and actually climbing roped up in the cold. Kind of a last minute trip, and I’ve never been this late in the season, except Yosemite last year, but it was 78 and sunny…

David Gardner
    BPL Member

@gearmaker

Locale: Northern California

Sounds like you’re going up Horse Creek. Are you climbing roped only if it’s cold? Which route to the peak?

Take some form and of emergency shelter at least. It’s late enough in the year for a freak storm.

Pedestrian
    BPL Member

@pedestrian