Topic

Winter snowshoe distance expectations

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Winter snowshoe distance expectations

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    MojoRisen
    BPL Member

@mojorisen

Locale: I’m a pilot. Almost anywhere!

Just a sidebar, but what kind of distance are you getting snowshoeing in a day. Say 6 hours? I know that age and the amount of climbing and descending are hard to say. But I live in Utah, so we have a few choices of climbing hard or stretching it out a little to save the legs. I pace out at about 1.8 if breaking trail. Which is always since no one seems to want to spend a few nights out freezing the cahonnies off when they have a perfectly warm home n bed. I average out 5 miles till dinner. Just something to talk about until Friday, n then we get another good storm coming through! :o)

Eric Blumensaadt
    BPL Member

@danepacker

Locale: Mojave Desert

In snow 2 ft. or deeper with a winter pack of say 30 -35 lbs. I’d expect no more than 6 miles in “rolling terrain”.

XC skis & skins (with a pack) will get you maybe 10 to 12 miles depending on your skill level and conditioning. With XC racing skis and carbon fiber poles I once did the 100 mile Canadian Ski Marathon in two days with an 8 lb. fanny pack and 10 hours of skiing. (1981)

As good as they are, I really can’t stand using my MSR Lightning Ascent snowshoes for winter camping. They are merely “OK” for hunting in thick woods to steep terrain.

Paul S
    BPL Member

@pula58

Hey Eric, just curious, what it is that you don’t like about the MSR lightning ascents for winter backpacking?

Bruce Tolley
    BPL Member

@btolley

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

@Mojo

Well it all depends. Even on the flat, when walking through deep powder, very slow. When walking on top of firm icey crusty snow, much faster.