Topic

Winter Sleep System Questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Winter Sleep System Questions

Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Kevin G
    BPL Member

@kguzda39

Locale: New England

Hello,

Winter overnight newbie here. For the record, I’ve researched the forums here and the winter Q&A just done tonight but still more confused than ever. For my purposes and context,  I will just be dabbling in a couple short overnight winter backpacking trips in the White Mountains of NH. I will only be going out in fair weather and camping at treeline or below in my Tarptent Double Rainbow Li.

For winter, being ultralight isn’t my biggest priority , but I don’t want to carry a huge amount of unnecessary weight either.

Currently, I have a UGQ extra wide /Long (64-66 inch) 20 degree down top quilt. However, I just bought a well reviewed long/wide Thermarest Parsec 0 bag with 29 oz of 800 fill down. It weighs 2lbs, 9 oz I believe.
    Am I better off just using the 0 bag or returning the bag and buying a synthetic sewn footbox 2nd quilt?

If I do this, what temp do I need to get to supplement my quilt to truly make it a comfortable 0 sleep system?

Another concern is I would then have to get an even wider 2nd quilt to go over it so both weight and volume in my pack would be more than the 0 degree sleeping bag, so then what’s the point of even doing that? Plus I’d have to fiddle with both sets of pad straps in the freezing cold and worry about drafts. To me the one 0 degree sleeping bag seems to be the better option, what am I missing here?