Topic

Wind pants for hiking

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Ivan Dominguez
    BPL Member

@idtejera

Locale: Canary Islands

Hello, for many years I used the Montane Featherlite Pants for backpacking and packrafting, made of Pertex Microlight, they offered me the necessary resistance + comfort for days. In addition, the zipper on the legs helped to evacuate the water to cross the rivers. I preferred to walk with shorts and combine them with windbreaker pants and Base Layer Leggings, as needed. Currently, Montane is no longer manufactured by Featherlite Pants. Do you have any recommendations?

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

I’ve been using Montbell Dynamo pants for several years and have been happy with them.

Ivan Dominguez
    BPL Member

@idtejera

Thanks Nick. Do you consider them comfortable for long walks?

Cheers

Ivan

Matt
    BPL Member

@mhr

Locale: San Juan Mtns.

Patagonia Houdini Pants!  Surprisingly warm, very light (sub 4 oz.), dry in no time, and very packable (underrated quality).  If it’s raining or cold, I’ll hike 30 miles/day in them.  I did hem them up to better fit my leg length and avoid bothersome pooling at the ankle cuff.

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

Back in 2008 I bought a Montbell UL wind shirt and pants. They were not breathable.

The Dynamo wind pants are very breathable. My size M weight 2.75 ounces. Plus you can usually buy them for a lot less than Patagonia.

If the new Houdini wind pants are made from the same material as the newer wind shirts, then I would be cautious. I have a pre-2012 Houdini wind shirt and it is very breathable. I have a 2013 wind shirt (I bought it to keep in my camper), and it is significantly less breathable.