Topic

Wide Scarpa/Sportiva Alternatives?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Wide Scarpa/Sportiva Alternatives?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Luke C
    Spectator

@paylasoutdoors

Hey guys. It’s time for me to replace my boots. I’ve been rocking some Scarpa’s that are way too big for about 6 years now, and they’re finally falling apart. I didn’t know what I was doing when I get them, and the fit is terrible, but the boots are great. I really love the rand, the little pad they have on the toe of the sole for edging, and all that. I am not tied to a high top shoe, in fact, i’ve been considering approach shoes. Most of my trips are long weekends, bagging peaks, and mild class 3 and 4 scrambles. I want something that climbs fairly well, is good for big miles, and durable. I work in outdoor retail, but my store doesn’t carry stuff quite this technical, so I haven’t had a chance to explore different models. We have Sportiva TX Guides, and they are way too narrow for me. Lol

My feet: Altra shoes fit me VERY well. I’ve got that shape, the toe box, etc, but they suck for any scrambling at all. Too soft. I’ve considered Sportiva TX 4’s, but they are heavy, and Sportiva’s run pretty narrow… As do most Scarpa’s. So, open discussion, what do you wide toe’d people wear? What do you like? I really think an approach shoe would be great for me.

Cheers

Alex H
    BPL Member

@abhitt

Locale: southern appalachians or desert SW

Try the TX3’s, lighter, still wide, better breathability.

avi sito
    BPL Member

@avisito

Akyras are wide enough for me. Very stiff sole as well.

Lyell K
    Spectator

@lyellfork

Reposting my own answer for a similar question on r/ultralight: