Topic

What I learned on my JMT Thru Hike

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports What I learned on my JMT Thru Hike

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Anthony F
    Spectator

@tflaris

Things I learned on the JMT

Disclaimer: Everything listed below is just my opinion. I hope it helps. It is not intended to be anything more than just my two cents. Always do what’s best for you and have fun.

Your experiences/opinions may vary from mine. It’s okay to do something different. I’m just a novice hiker.

Bio:
    I am a 48 year old male, novice hiker (500 miles hiked) that lives in Florida. I’m currently section hiking the AT and Florida Trail. I sectioned hiked the AT for 14 days as training for the JMT trip ten days prior to its start. I lost 17.8 pounds for the JMT hike and had a backpack base weight of 18 pounds.

Here’s what stands out in my mind:

Introduction: The trail consists of switchbacks, streams, boulders, rocks, gravel, sand and granite steps in varying states and conditions. In some cases the trail has become a stream. If early in the season you might find snow patches are still present. As well as ice bridges. Muir Pass had the most snow of our hike (June 26-July 15).

1. Lighter is better when it comes to base weight (to a certain degree). But make sure you have what’s needed.