Topic

Western PA/NW WV backpacking recommendations?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Western PA/NW WV backpacking recommendations?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Jake
    BPL Member

@jake_c

Locale: Eastern OH

Hello,

I’m trying to get back into backpacking after over a decade since my last trip.

All of my previous experience was with my uncle, who was an avid backpacker. So, I have no trip planning experience. I’ve gathered nearly everything I need for a decent kit over the last few months so I’m hoping to get out in ~May and learn the ropes.

I live in Columbiana county Ohio, and would like to stay within 4-5 hours drive time. I’m game for <20 mile 2 day over nights, as well as some 3-5 day trips at around 8-10 MPD. Thanks in advance for any recommendations or tips.

Jeff McWilliams
    BPL Member

@jjmcwill

Locale: Midwest
    Jeff McWilliams
    BPL Member

@jjmcwill

Locale: Midwest

Check out the hikes in Monongahela National Forest at the link above.  Trips I consistently hear good things about are Dolly Sods and Canaan Mountain.

Jake
    BPL Member

@jake_c

Jeff,

Thanks for the the link. I’ll do some reading!

Kevin Babione
    BPL Member

@kbabione

Locale: Pennsylvania

I’ve done a number of trails within your zone.  Please feel free to PM me if any of these appeal to you and you want more info:

• John P Saylor Trail – Winber, PA – This is a great starter loop trail and can be done in one night or two if you prefer
    • Dolly Sods – Easy to spend two nights there.  I’ve been there three times, although my last visit in October 2018 was miserably muddy (the other two times were great)
    • Laurel Highlands Trail – This starts at Ohiopyle State Park and goes 70 miles through the Laurel Highlands.  It’s a linear trail so it’s best to have two cars.

Good luck and welcome back to the woods!

Jake