Topic

Western mountaineering temp ratings

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Western mountaineering temp ratings

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Shae S
    BPL Member

@lynx1988

Are the temp ratings pretty accurate? Debating between a lynx or a antelope. The lynx would probably be warmer than what I need but I would probably use it like a quilt most of the time. Just want to invest in one cold weather bag that will last me a long time.

bradmacmt
    BPL Member

@bradmacmt

Locale: montana

For me they’re accurate, but everyone’s different.

Where in NA do you intend to use this bag, what season, what are the average temps?

Do you already have a warmer weather bag?

Shae S
    BPL Member

@lynx1988

1. @bradmacmt I got a 20 degree UGQ bandit. I’m in Colorado so it’s always subject to change haha. But I want something I can use here in the winter, want something warm enough I can cowboy camp in.
    Zack L
    BPL Member

@zloomis

WM is well known for temp ratings that are accurate (if not conservative). I’m a fairly neutral (not hot or cold sleeper) and have comfortably taken the Badger 15 degree bag down to 11 in base layers. This was in a floorless tipi shelter with good air flow and using an XTherm pad.

bradmacmt
    BPL Member

@bradmacmt

Shae, I’d absolutely go Lynx.

Shae S
    BPL Member

@lynx1988

@bradmacmt Do you have a lynx? It seems awesome

Scott Smith
    BPL Member

@mrmuddy

Locale: Idaho Panhandle

Ditto on the conservative temp ratings

I have a versatile and a summerlite

And, as an example, I’ve slept very comfortably, in a tent to the mid 20’s.  in my summerlite.

Axel J
    BPL Member

@axel-t