Topic

Wanting to add storm doors to a pocket tarp

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Wanting to add storm doors to a pocket tarp

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Jonathan Skiles
    BPL Member

@jonskiles

I am an absolute novice on making my own gear.  I have a Zpacks Pocket Tarp and would like to add storm doors for a little added protection.  I would be very grateful for any information, resources or input on how to best go about doing that.  I may be over simplifying things, but it seems like it would just take two pieces of Dyneema, a pattern for the doors, sewing them on and then taping the seams.  Thanks!!!

Geoff Caplan
    BPL Member

@geoffcaplan

Locale: Lake District, Cumbria

If your skills are basic, you’ll want to avoid the complexities of sewing and simply tape the seams. They won’t be under much stress so this should be strong enough. Here’s a tutorial from Dyneema themselves:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g_0f8DM9Ab4

You can get the bonding tape from Ripstop By The Roll.

Because Dyneema is so expensive you’ll want to get things right first time. You can work out the shape of the doors using paper models. Then make a full-sized prototype with inexpensive plastic and try it out on your Pocket Tarp using something reversible like duck tape for the assembly. Then use your prototype as a pattern for your final version.

Matthew / BPL

@matthewkphx

Perhaps a triangular door clipped just inside the entrance could work? See this thread.

What about using a rain kilt as a door?

Jonathan Skiles
    BPL Member

@jonskiles

Thanks for the info.  I like the idea of using a rain kilt.  I am going to experiment with that first.  I really appreciate the input from you both.

William Chilton
    BPL Member

@williamc3

Locale: Antakya