Topic

UL stove recommendations

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) UL stove recommendations

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    lisa r
    BPL Member

@lisina10

Locale: Western OR

Continuing my quest to reduce my base weight, I’m now looking at stoves. Since the last time I bought my MSR pocket rocket stove options have changed dramatically (this seems to be the trend of the last 5 or so years). All I need is to boil 10 oz of water once per day (maybe twice if it’s cold and I want hot tea). I have a Toaks titanium 550ml pot that I use so looking for a stove that will accommodate that pot.

I have little experience with alcohol stoves and feel kind of baffled by them, but it appears those are among the better options. If anyone can help explain these systems and give me any leads on good ones to consider, I’d be grateful. The one experience I have was with a friend 10 years ago who poured too much alcohol in his cut off soda can and had to let it burn off for quite a while (and nearly started a brush fire). It appears systems have improved much since then – I’m looking for a little more control than that old DIY version.

Thanks!

Mark Verber
    BPL Member

@verber

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

For solo trips I transitions from iso butane to alcohol stoves… and then  GVP got me to try esbits.  I haven’t looked back. I have been using the ul caldera cone with the gram cracker esbits burner (and a MLD 850 pot) on all my solo trips since 2009.  No hassle, no risk of spillage and planning is easy… I count number of heated meals and pack that number of esbits. Alcohol can work well.  Once again caldera cone would be my recommendation.  I haven’t used it, but the kojin-stove seems like a nice alcohol burner

Here is what I wrote on my https://verber.com/stoves page: