Topic

Tried La Sportiva Akyra- they’re a no go :(

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Tried La Sportiva Akyra- they’re a no go :(

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 46 total)
  • Author
    Mike M
    BPL Member

@mtwarden

Locale: Montana

I’ve been wearing La Sportiva Akashas now for about 4-5 years- not sure how many pairs I’ve been through, but roughly 2-3 pairs/year.  Evidently La Sportiva has discontinued them- sadly.  But I had renewed hope when I read about the Akyra- sturdy outsole w/ good traction and a roomy toe box- hallelujah!

Finally found some on sale and purchased a pair.  Tried them on this evening and right away I noticed they were longer (same size) than the Akasha.  The outsole does look great, more aggressive than the Akasha, and the foot is a little better protected- underneath and at the toes.  But the Aklyra does NOT have a wide toe box :(

Side by side of an Akasha (right) and Akyra (left)- you can see it’s slightly longer (not a big deal, I’d just order one size smaller), but you can also the Akyra toe box tapers a lot more than the Akasha- sadly that’s a deal breaker.

I do have four new spare pairs so I’m good for awhile, but the search will continue for a replacement or maybe they’ll bring the Akasha back :)

rOg w
    BPL Member

@rog_w

Locale: rogwilmers.com

I had the same issue.  I have a wide fore foot.  I also had to size down a half size.  Right before I went to return them, I took out the flimsy insole and that solved the problem instantly.  So far I have used them in the Canyonlands, the Wind River and Pukaskwa with zero issues.  They are phenomenal shoes… once you ditch the inserts.  They are far more burly than the Akasha underfoot.