Topic

Treasures From The Mists of the Past

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Treasures From The Mists of the Past

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Eric Blumensaadt
    BPL Member

@danepacker

Locale: Mojave Desert

I have been using two UL backpacking items for many years.

1. Princeton Tech Scout headlamp -> 1.7 oz. W/4CR2032 lithium batteries (12 years old)

2. SILVA Huntsman mini protractor compass -> 0.6 oz W/10″ cord lanyard. (27 years old)

Both are “treasures” for their lighter weight and usefulness and both are long out of production. :o(

Perhaps the most treasured is the Huntsman compass. For its weight and size it is very accurate and easy to use with its rotating bezel. Ya just gotta remember the current  declination of yer area or have it on yer map as it can’t be preset as in the larger protractor compasses like the SILVA Ranger.

Kimberly Wersal
    BPL Member

@kwersal

Locale: Western Colorado

I have that same Princeton Tec headlamp and have never seen any need to replace it with a newer model.  Twelve years and counting…

Elliott Wolin
    BPL Member

@ewolin

Locale: Hampton Roads, Virginia

The last time I did any sort of a major upgrade to my gear was around 2008, and I went for what then was considered UL.  Since then I’ve gone to Neoair pads, a FireMaple remote-canister stove, replaced worn-out shoes, replaced broken headlamps, and I think I purchased new raingear and socks, but that’s about all I’ve changed.  I don’t get out too often and everything I have is still in good condition.

Specifically, I still use my assorted Ti pots, MYOG tarps, GoLite packs, Leki and Komperdell old-style poles, STP and Columbia (clearance) clothing, Silva compass from the 1980s, and Photon Freedom micro flashlights.