Topic

The physics of pyramid tent design

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear The physics of pyramid tent design

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Ell
    BPL Member

@ell-nora

I have been doing some thinking and have decided, against my better judgement,to design and build a pyramid style single walled tent (hexamid-ish).

However, my background isn’t engineering (CS sorry !) so I am a bit unsure where to look/ what to consider in the design.

I am sure I could eyeball things so I don’t accidentally make a very expensive and dangerous kite, but that doesn’t really sit well with me. So ideally I would like to guide design choices by the physics of it.

Some inshial questions:

Guylines:

– Mid panel and/or on the seams?

Panels:

– Is more always better?

– What is the point of diminishing returns?

– Is actually the additional panels or the additional stakes needed?

Wind Loading/ distribution/ Shedding?

– Can any of these be reasonably estimated?

– How could you optimise these ?

I know that any one of these could be a topic in its own right and that there may not be huge benefits to this approach as there are significant factors that are not able to be controlled for – my sewing being the main one!

But any advice/ aerodynamics book recommendations would be much appreciated!

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

a lot of topics on backpackinglight about this

they tend to be more experience than theoretical/physics

Eric Blanche
    BPL Member

@eblanche

Locale: Northeast US

My take on the guylines is you need and should want both! They do not all have the be setup all the time. Only when necessary/concerned.