Topic

Tarp on the Colorado Trail?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Tarp on the Colorado Trail?

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Adrian Adams
    Spectator

@adrianadams

Locale: Northern Arizona

I’m fixing to hike the Colorado Trail SOBO starting around August 1st.  I’m used to camping under a tarp which I’ve been doing for the past ten years.  My question is, would it be a bad idea to use a tarp vs. a tent on the CT do to the need to camp above tree line and mosquitos?

bjc
    BPL Member

@bj-clark-2-2

Locale: Colorado

I use a shaped tarp and bug bivy in the summer on the CT or similar areas. That way I can use the bivy as ground sheet when mosquitos are no issue. I do think a duo size tarp keeps out splash and gives better cover in rainstorms than a solo shelter.

Bill
    BPL Member

@schendy

I’m leaving around the same time, so I’ve been looking into similar issues Adrian.  In August, and because this is going to be a dry year, I don’t think there should be too many bad mosquito areas.  If it’s planned right, I think there should only be a limited number of times you’ll need to camp above tree line, more often camping will be at or near tree line.

bjc
    BPL Member

@bj-clark-2-2

<p style=”padding-left: 30px; text-align: left;”>I agree with Bill about the treeline issue. I always try to be down to treeline or lower to camp. Having been knocked down a couple of times by lightening, I make it a point to get low whenever possible.</p>

Dean F.
    BPL Member

@acrosome

Locale: Back in the Front Range

I’m planning a SOBO with a Cricket Tarp starting June 1st (low snow levels this year), so I’ll let you know!

Valerie E
    Spectator

@wildtowner

Locale: Grand Canyon State