Topic

Stove for the Winds…recommendations?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Stove for the Winds…recommendations?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Pamhikes
    Spectator

@pamhikesfl

<p style=”text-align: left;”>I have a titanium canister stove that I’ve been happy with so far.  I’m going to the Winds in August…do I need a wind screen?  I generally cook my food rather just boiling water.   Any recommendations/advice especially for that particular area?   I’m open to any ideas as this is my first time going.</p>
    <p style=”text-align: left;”>Thank you!</p>

Ben C
    BPL Member

@alexdrewreed

Locale: Kentucky

Pam, I used an alcohol stove with no problems on the high route.  You can almost always find a way to shelter from the wind.  The only morning it was too windy for me to cook, it was really too cold and windy to enjoy a meal.

Lee
    BPL Member

@wrr

I’ve taken multiple trips to the WRR & I also use a canister stove. I used to bring a windscreen but stopped packing it the past couple of trips & haven’t missed it. IMHO it’s not worth the trouble.

S Long
    BPL Member

@izeloz

Locale: Wasatch

I would always take a windscreen. It’s the WIND rivers, not the Gentle Breeze Rivers. An average windscreen will pay for itself in weight of fuel saved over long enough, plus your food will be ready faster. Unless you are able to consistently find totally wind-sheltered areas to cook, I would personally bring a windscreen. FWIW, I use a Fosters can Caldera Cone alcohol setup most of the time, but also have the BRS-3000 canister stove. The canister stove does NOT do well without a windscreen.

Pamhikes
    Spectator

@pamhikesfl