Topic

Space Blanket to extend range of under quilt?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Hammock Camping Space Blanket to extend range of under quilt?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Mark
    BPL Member

@drshane-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2-2

Locale: Northwest Wyoming

I have a 30 degree under quilt that I want to push into the shoulder season. I was thinking of putting a mylar space blanket between my hammock and under quilt. Any thoughts or experience with this?

My other option is to order an under quilt protector for my Dream Hammock Sparrow.

Alice Hengst
    BPL Member

@moondust

Locale: Southern Sierras

My only experience with a space blanket was using it for an unexpected overnight at 13,000 feet in thankfully good weather, 11 years ago. It ripped very easily. I hope the newer ones hold up better.

BlackHatGuy
    Spectator

@sleeping

Locale: The Cascades

I’ve never tried it, so take this with a few grains of Morton’s Lite salt. I once tried using a close-cell foam pad instead of an underquilt, and woke up with my feet/calves all wet because the pad doesn’t breathe. I’m a warm sleeper, so no doubt that contributed. I think the same would have happened if I tried what you’re suggesting, but that may not apply to you. I’d probably want something breathable, and I don’t think space blankets are since I assume they work on the VBL principle (though, obviously, I could be wrong about that too).

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

space blankets aren’t breathable

in order for a reflective layer to work, there has to be an air space next to it

for example, if you put a space blanket on top of you, there’s an air space above, so it works