Topic

SOUTHERN JMT (VERMILLION RESORT to MT. WHITNEY) AUGUST 2019

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips SOUTHERN JMT (VERMILLION RESORT to MT. WHITNEY) AUGUST 2019

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    John Schutzman
    BPL Member

@jjoschutz

I am an active backpacking 61 year old male looking to to organize a group of 3-4 to hike the Southern JMT in August of 2019.  I am a physician and need to schedule vacation a year in advance.  Looking to do the 120 miles over approximately 2 weeks.  I did the Northern JMT from Vermillion Resort to Yosemite in 2016. Looking to do 10-12 miles per day.  Let me know if interested.   John Schutzman

Steven McDowell
    BPL Member

@smcdindelmar

Locale: San Diego

Hi John,

I am interested.

As background; 59 yrs old. Sorta retired. Live in Del Mar, CA.

My schedule is pretty flexible. Will turn 60 on August 11. That specific day probably won’t work.

Did several 50 milers/ Sierra treks with Scouts prior to 2016.

2018 so far Grand Canyon; Grandview to New Hance, 3 days ~25 miles, LostCoast 3 day 25 miler,

2017 Whitney, Portal back and forth one day and Rake Lakes Loop, 3 days, I think 28.

Stay fit primarily through playing pickup.

Steven McDowell

John Schutzman
    BPL Member

@jjoschutz

Thanks for your interest. I will be checking on earliest time to submit for a JMT permit.
    <div>For 2016 & 2017 it was a year in advance entering at Vermillion Resort.</div>
    <div>Thanks, John</div>

John Schutzman
    BPL Member

@jjoschutz

http://Highsierratrails.com

Concerning permit information

John Schutzman
    BPL Member

@jjoschutz

My two week vacation slot for hiking the southern JMT will be August 17-September 1 2019.

Steven McDowell
    BPL Member

@smcdindelmar

Replied earlier, I am still game since those dates should work for me.