Topic

Sol Escape Lite Bivy Mod

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Sol Escape Lite Bivy Mod

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Larin M
    Spectator

@shortytravels

Has anybody added no-see-um to the Sol Escape Lite Bivy in order to make it fully enclosed? If so, would you pls provide pictures of how you went about doing this? I’m no seamstress but I bought a sewing machine at a garage sale for $20 and am wondering if anyone has already done this before that I might be able to copy since I’m a beginner.

I really like this bivy. It is cheap, breathes, can be used as a sleeping bag in summer temps and weighs only 5.5oz.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Nm, I defer to consensus.

Anonymous
    Inactive

nm

Larin M
    Spectator

@shortytravels

Thanks for the tips!

I’ve been thinking about using the 3M spray adhesive like the guys that have expanded the bivy for a larger fit. The spray seems to work for them… just don’t want any hard feeling from dried glue under my head! hahah.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Your welcome Larin.

Martin D
    BPL Member

@natlife

Sewing the material works just fine. I added girth to the bivvy in the middle section by cutting a slit underneath and sewing a rhombus shaped piece of silnylon. I also added zippers on each side to enlarge the opening by a few inches and have the ability to close it completely. I found the material very easy to work with actually and holds a seam plenty strong.

Anonymous
    Inactive

nm

R
    Spectator

@autox

The bivy itself is sewn.