Topic

Snow Pack/Hiking Season in CO Mountains

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Snow Pack/Hiking Season in CO Mountains

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Nick Otis
    BPL Member

@notis

Locale: CA

I haven’t backpacked at all in CO–only a few summer day hikes. It looks beautiful. Spirit Air has some dirt cheap flights into Denver. I’ve got my eye on Lost Creek Wilderness loop, Twin Owls loop, and Four Pass loop for some weekenders. What’s the snow pack like? Does anybody know generally when these areas will be hikable? We have very little snow hiking experience, but consider ourselves good, adaptable hikers. Paul Mags speaks a little to the hiking seasons at different elevations in CO, but can anyone comment on it for this year? Total newbie for this area, so feel free to school me with links, etc. Cheers!

Gary Dunckel
    BPL Member

@zia-grill-guy

Locale: Boulder

You might want to check with us again around June 1st. We just had the mother of all spring snow dumps this past weekend, which added another 3-4 feet of snowpack in the high country (that already had from 3-7 feet accumulated at 9-10,000′).

Lost Creek and Twin Owls are at lower elevations, but I kinda think the 4 Pass Loop will be a bit tough to negotiate until sometime in July. We’ll have to see how fast the melt-out happens, of course. I would suggest that you book your flight for sometime after July 15, just to be safe.

Nick Otis
    BPL Member

@notis

Thanks, Gary. Really appreciate your insight. I think I’ll hold off until the summer then…or maybe book a trip in the fall. Although I’m from MA, I’ve never seen the aspen foliage in CO and it looks like a treat. I wonder if there’s snowpack websites for CO like there are for the Sierras here…

Gary Dunckel
    BPL Member

@zia-grill-guy

Locale: Boulder