Topic

Snow Gaiters. Recommendations.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Snow Gaiters. Recommendations.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Don Burton
    Spectator

@surfcam310

Locale: City of Angels

I’m looking for some recommendations for some snow gaiters. Initially they will be for some local peak bagging day hikes that may involve snow. I’m thinking long ones for possible post holing. I was looking at the Montbell ones and like the weight of the Gore Tex Light long ones they have but was concerned about their durability.

I’m new to hiking in the snow so I’m open to all advice. For my set up I’m thinking Injinji Cool max sock > thin wool liner type sock > Rocky gore tex sock > Saucony Xodus trail runners > gaiters. I’m really set on wearing Injinji socks as my first layer. They make a wool version also. I would anticipate hiking/daytime temps to be around 30-50 F.  From talking with others in my area, Microspikes seems good for these hikes.

Ian
    BPL Member

@10-7

Hi Don.

I’m on year three or so with my OR Verglas Gaiters.  If you search the forums here, you’ll find a few complaints on fit.  They’ve been fine for me.  They don’t breathe all that great but I don’t really have any issues with condensation in the wintertime, and only wear them for SAR stuff in the summer time when the moisture isn’t really a liability and I really don’t notice it until I take them off.  There’s likely better ones out there but I’ve been happy with them and feel they are worth consideration.  Probably not the best endorsement in the world but I’m not in the market to replace them.

Regardless of which brand you go with, I’d stick with tall ones similar to the Verglas Gaiters.