Topic

SMD Haven cuben fiber winter worthiness

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) SMD Haven cuben fiber winter worthiness

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Don Burton
    Spectator

@surfcam310

Locale: City of Angels

I’ve been using a Deschutes cf tarp and really like it but 2 weekends ago on a family overnighter I brought along my recent gear swap purchase, a sil Haven tarp. I bought it for trips where I would want to share a shelter. It was the first time I used it and really liked the design. Now I’m thinking 3 oz more than my Deschutes may be worth it for solo and non solo trips.

This leads me to wonder how winter worthy the Haven is. What do you think?

George Geist
    BPL Member

@geist

Locale: Smoky Mountains

Hi Don,

I have been using my cuben fiber SMD Haven year round for three years now. With six groundhog stacks pegging it out I have not had any problems with high winds, cold rain, and modest snow. I came to the same conclusion as you — for 3 oz more it is great design and weight for both solo and non-solo trips.

Cameron M
    BPL Member

@cameronm-aka-backstroke

Locale: Los Angeles

I would think that the Haven with its unsupported ridge should not be regarded as a snow tent if you are expecting serious snow. And you would want to lock it down to the ground like a mid, in which case at least for me at 6′-1″ would not be long enough. But it is an interesting alternative for solo 3-season use.

George Geist
    BPL Member

@geist

I added a snow skirt to my CF Haven to keep out spindrift, and more importantly to me, blowing rain which I get a lot of where I go.This allows me to maintain the full interior space of the Haven in bad weather.