Topic

Sleeping Bag advice for a (UK-based) newbie

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Sleeping Bag advice for a (UK-based) newbie

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Rachel S
    Spectator

@rshah

Locale: UK

Hi all, I’m relatively new to backpacking light though this site and its forums were a hugely helpful resource for me a couple of years ago when I did my first long(ish) distance hike on my own in the Balkans. Thank you. I didn’t subscribe at the time but have just – as of yesterday – bought myself a subscription and am really excited to finally be able to access members’ only content and participate in the forums.

The reason I’m writing now is that I’m currently preparing for a 10-12 day independent unsupported hike in the mountains of North Macedonia with my husband and the time has finally come to stop lugging around what we call our “festival” sleeping bags i.e. huge,  heavy and not that warm. It’s time to buy a proper lightweight sleeping bag!

But which one? Therein lies the dilemma, and I’m hoping you might be able to advise. In terms of the usual variables, here is where we are at: