Topic

Similar stove to Super Cat that'll work more effecient with BOT pot?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Similar stove to Super Cat that'll work more effecient with BOT pot?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Rusty Beaver
    BPL Member

@rustyb

Locale: Idaho

I’ve been using a Super Cat stove for 10 yrs, combined with a fairly wide ti Snow Peak pot. I love the stove for its weight, simplicity, etc…and have been more than happy with its efficiency. Also, my fuel bottle (PB8 probiotics bottle) fits into the stove like it was made to.

I recently switched from my Snow Peak pot to the narrower BOT…and, though I have not done any timing, I have noticed a loss of efficiency. Many of the flames simply go up the side of the BOT.

Is there a similarly simple stove I can make that will work better with my BOT? Perhaps another variation of the Super Cat? Or, is there a way to make this set-up more efficient? (I did not have a dedicated windscreen on this last trip so perhaps that is where I should start. Maybe all I need?)

Ben H.
    BPL Member

@bzhayes

Locale: No. Alabama

Well, wide pots do a better job of absorbing heat that tall narrow pots, so a simple stove replacement won’t cure all of your troubles.  That said, I’m guessing a startlyte type stove would work better than a super cat.  Continuing, yes, a wind screen should really help you out upping your efficiency.

Gary Dunckel
    BPL Member

@zia-grill-guy

Locale: Boulder