Topic

Should I seam seal this backpack? (3FUL 45L LS21)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Should I seam seal this backpack? (3FUL 45L LS21)

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Niko Z.
    Spectator

@niko-z

Locale: SE Asia, Europe

Hello all,

I have receiveded a 3F UL backpack made of LS21, with XPAC-21 used for the back and harness. Here is the product link and here are close up photos I took of the seams inside and out.

I have recently discovered that I enjoy seam sealing tents and have glue left over. I am considering whether to seam seal this pack and how? I have no experience sealing packs and have not dealt with this material before. It appears that it would be easier done from the inside, as the seams are readily exposed on the inside and don’t require stretching out. I would appreciate some input from knowledgeable folks on this forum.

The 3FUL online store representative said no sealing is needed, but some other parts of their reply made me think they didn’t fully understand the idea.

Best,

Niko Z.

Niko Z.
    Spectator

@niko-z

PS. In the linked photo album top five photos are from the outside, bottom five inside.

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

I would not seam seal and would use an inside liner.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

I’ve sealed inside seams in packs I’ve made

It’s hard to get it waterproof though.  Sweat against fabric will leak through.

John’s onto something with the liner

Or place things on the back that are waterproof, like a plastic bag or mattress

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

If you have the sealant, it adds negligible weight so there’s no harm trying it.  It’ll probably make it more waterproof.

I made a xpac pack and after a while it developed pinholes that let water in.

Niko Z.