Topic

Shave weight on Big Agnes Copper Spur HV UL3

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Shave weight on Big Agnes Copper Spur HV UL3

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Brett T
    BPL Member

@bretttayl78

I started off as a tent camper years ago, but my wife and I have been hammocking for the past several years. I recently picked up a used Big Agnes Copper Spur HV UL3 so we could do a little more tent camping. It’s a previous year’s model (so the vestibule doors don’t have “porch mode.”)

To other Copper Spur users, I’m wondering if there are any mods you recommend to shave a little more weight off of this otherwise already fairly darn light tent? I’m not handy with a sewing machine, I’m just looking for simple suggestions. Other than loosing the corner guylines, I can’t see much here that can be improved upon for weight savings. Even those guylines are only a few grams, I mainly took them off just because I can’t imagine ever actually needing them for the conditions we hike in, and they would just be in the way more than anything.

One idea was to reduce my stake count. Since it is freestanding, I’m considering simply staking down the four sides of the fly and not bothering with staking the tent corners. Hard winds are usually not an issue for us, and I could always bring them on occasion whenever  it seems like a good idea for the trip.

Thanks–

–Brett

SIMULACRA
    BPL Member

@simulacra

Locale: Puget Sound